PRESENTATION — CODE1161_wk14

Shelda Kristie
Design Computing
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2017

Final week of CODE1161 class. Finally presenting the Open Data Project.

On open data project.

The presentation. How did it go? Let’s just say, I’m not that good at presenting. If it were a silent presentation with me pressing buttons only, it would be great. Another thing about my presentation, I knew there is a black hole to my data analysis, which maybe I could fix if I wanted to, but let’s just leave it at that.

What I learnt from my data.

Australia has a really good vaccination rate when compared to other countries such as the USA. In my presentation, I did a little research on the incentives the government offers to families with children who are up to date with their vaccination or also known as the No Jab No Pay policy. What I found out is that a family could earn up to $726 per financial year in tax return for vaccinating their children. Although that doesn’t seem a lot, mind you, the vaccination itself is free and you would vaccinate your children either way (unless you are those anti-immunisation people), so basically, you’re getting free money. I’m not sure how much child care costs, but you get reimbursed for that too. My tutor, Ishaan, thought that it was good that I put up that little research to end up my presentation and I really appreciate the fact that he mentioned that.

Things to fix for the final submission.

Ishaan didn’t specifically mentioned what I should change in my data, but he did comment on how I talked to fast on certain graphs when I was doing my presentation. Since I has my data ready two weeks before the presentation date, I had a lot of time to fix it and add more stuff. I would like to add a geopandas or a mapping diagram to my open data project, but it doesn’t really fit with my variables. I could change around the fonts size, graph colours, or actually fix the ‘black hole’, but do I want to? Not really. And since the presentation on Friday, I spent the weekend working, and I had a Computational Theory 3 exhibition catalogue due Monday and Computational Theory 1 presentation due Tuesday. And all these is due on Tuesday. So, no. No thanks.

On CODE1161.

Wrapping up the class. I really enjoyed coding. I really do. Coding is like a puzzle that you have to figure out, and I always liked puzzles. In the beginning, I was always consulting my Comp Sci friend, but he only knows JavaScript, so what ever he tells, I have to somehow get the concept and change in into Python syntax. As I get a hang of it, it is all good. I may seem to get what I’m doing, but I’ll be honest and I take a while to figure things out, since my mind always wonders off.

Do I want another Python class? Yes. I am looking forward to the class I’m having next semester where we use Python in Grasshopper scripting in urban design development with Hank Haeusler.

For now, thank you for reading through my struggles and “ahhhh…” moments for this course.

One last nyancat.

(Why do I sound so sentimental =_=)

--

--