Week 11-Making Maps

Stephen Karahalias
Design Computing
Published in
1 min readJun 13, 2017

This was a very important lecture to attend to in CoDe 1161 as today we were still working on our Open Data Project, however the Great Ben planned to teach us how to incorporate maps. Basically, Ben taught us how to turn our data into a map to color code different regions to define a specific aspect. In relation to my project, incorporating a map of NSW with crime offences committed. This lesson also brought me to how I was planning to present my data.

First, I would find the sum of crimes in both the years of 1995 and 2012.
I would then contrast these two by finding the top 10 and making a bar chart for each of them.
And with the new idea of making a map I would develop a NSW map to show the significant contrast in crimes.

So hopefully, I can look into the aspect of making a map because to me it seems as though it can change the entire perspective one might have on the crime rate from 1995–2012.

--

--