Week 8

Cathy Vu
Design Computing
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2017

I only realised yesterday that I had messed up the dates and thought we had an exam tomorrow…

I’m not even sure how we’ll go abouts doing that next week because I literally can’t run the VM from my laptop.

Anyways, onto the exercises… starting from week 2.
During the break, I had finally set up my computer and so I could also finally install the VM on it and get up to speed with all the coding. Laptop is a poop box that is absolutely worthless >:c
Though I also ran into some problems with my VM not working initially, whilst discussing it with Simona who also had the problem, I noticed it was because my version was set to Windows 7 and had to be set to Windows 10. OoOps

I am essentially coding from scratch — classmates are light years ahead of me.

Although I’ve been reading some of the readings and attending the lectures, it’s really different when it comes down to actually coding.
Honestly, it’s been 2 years since I’ve last done coding so getting back into the train of thought/coding mentality was a bit difficult!

I got through week 2 exercises pretty easily but I had to through the videos by Ben for some parts of exercise 3 (mapping).

Onto week 3 exercises!

Week 4 exercises

And now I’m up to date with week 5 exercises! Woop, woop~
The first exercise revolved around refactoring. For that, we re-code and clean up the code that Ben has given to us.
I’m actually doing the exercise as I type (in between the time in which I get stuck and wish to procrastinate/put coding off for a bit).

--

--