Week 9

Cathy Vu
Design Computing
Published in
1 min readMay 4, 2017

There’s an exam in tomorrow’s tutorial and I don’t believe I’m ready. Late start to homework exercises and I’m terrible under pressure. No excuses though, we’ll simple see how it goes.

In the previous week’s tutorial, it was centred around our Open-Data project.
I struggled with simply picking a data set. Ben’s suggestion? Whatever tickles our fancy.

However, I found that even if I found something of interest, to find an appropriate data set online was moreso difficult.
Interests included cosplay, dice, game related.
And by an appropriate data set, I mean it had to have enough data and be consistent.

I think I eventually settled on a Pokemon data set lol but for tutorial purposes, as a means to simply be acquainted with Pandas and Jupyter, it was recommended to first start off with some of the data sets on Kaggle, provided by Ishaan on Slack.

Pandas had to first be installed into the VM as it was forgotten — easy fix with a sudo pip install command.

And from there, we simply followed along Ben’s code, using it as a skeleton and changing where needed to accommodate for our data.

--

--