Digital making-Journal Week 1

Tian Shao
code3100
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2017

After the tutorial, we discuss the aim and requirement of our topic which is digital making, and my group decided to make cooperation with the Fabrication team.

I’m aiming to looking for the suitable joinery system and start doing some research. And I was attracted of Japanese joinery system which is the traditional joinery system used by ancestors.

And after look deep into the Japanese joinery, I found the joinery system I think will be worked with pavilion — “The mortise and tenon joinery”. The mortise and tenon joint is the traditional joinery system, it has been used for thousands of years by woodworkers around the world to join pieces of wood.

Concave part of the joint is Tenon, and convex part of joint is Mortise.

Tenon
Mortise

This structure is make individual part stronger, but the combination of each other, support of each other, you don’t need glue or nail to combine with, just connection with mortise part and tenon part. That’s how mostly Chinese old palace keeps more than thousands of years.

Obviously, the disadvantage of this joinery system is the structure will limit by the angels. Mainly the adjoining pieces connect at an angle of 90°. I will do more research find the one which is suit for the pavillion.

There is one thing is ANNOYING me. I can’t clearly distinguish the topic of digital making and BIM modeling. Cause I m still thinking about we are doing the same thing. (Stupid question)

--

--