Simplified Karamba Workflow

Montanna Green
code3100
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2017

Since the design has still not be finalized, I decided to create a workflow that anyone can use on the iterations we have been working on. This workflow will aim to enable all members of the group, including tutors, to structurally test the iterations using Karamba.

The two workflows I’ve developed will work on curved beams, and panels that are the structural elements.

PANELS

I created the cluster and then fed the inputs into both extrusion components. The script ran, but I could not see the model. I then opened the cluster and I could view the model.

Cluster for Panel Test

I then discovered I need to have a the output as a mesh, rather than a model.

The user now just needs to add a mesh component and a panel to view the model and the displacement values.

If the user wishes to view inside the cluster, they just need to double click the component.

BEAMS

All you need to feed into this cluster is the curves you wish to turn into beams. From there, the cluster will find the necessary points and construct the model.

Same as the PANEL cluster, the used needs to add a mesh component and panel to view the model and displacement value.

OVERALL

Both of these clusters use the material weight and gravity as loads, if the user wishes there to be more, they will need to open the cluster to add more.

Both these clusters have been designed for CODE 3100 students and tutors, and have been created to suit the multiple iterations we have had during semester 1.

The clusters remove all the confusion in Karamba and reduce the scripting from this…

To this…

I’m hopeful that these clusters become useful and we are able to generate quick Karamba models on future iterations.

--

--