Week 6 to week 8

Sang Kwak
code3100
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2017

After failing in the attempt to script in C# from the previous week I have decided to try out some markerless tracking features in Unity. Following some great tutorials into how to set things up, I was able to create my own version of it.

As i was trying to build my very own application, as usual I wasn’t easily able to build without any issues. The first Issue that came up was an error stating that unity unable to list target platforms, as seen in the image below.

After a thorough research into this error I found a solution to replace the whole tools file located in the AndroidSDK file. Downloading the tools file r25.2.3 from the website https://developer.android.com/studio/index.html .

After I thought things were finally working, another error stating “failed to build apk” showed up as seen below, and had to be researched into, to see how to fix this issue. So then for some odd reason, the apk was somehow able to build on the next day. So finally I have made a prototype that is fully ready to be tested on a mobile!

I went onto scripting in C# again with the design prototype being able to change the text, and the sequence of the text through the scripts as seen below.

This script was built from scratch so any errors were basically dealt with trial and error if any issues came up.

To explain the script, I took the effort to explain the components in each important line which is shown in “//” (in the image) to help my group or anyone, to understand what is going on. I was able to create a script of my own with the addition of further research into what i wanted to achieve. So basically what the scripts is doing, is that it counts down from a certain number you choose for the text seen towards the users in the pavilion to change. Also to accommodate this, I also had to time the animation of the character which was done in unity ‘animator’ tab. The animations can simply be dragged into the animator tab and then connect the components just like grasshopper scripts.

--

--