How I buy discipline

Anand
codeanand
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2018

The struggle to stick to plans is eternal. Exercise daily, don’t eat junk, write weekly are simple plans, but require enormous amounts of discipline.

On Time, Every Time.

Discipline is a limited resource. Tapping into it daily makes life very strenuous. Hence I was looking for hacks that would allow me to stick to my plan effortlessly. After sometime googling. I realized that fear and greed were more generously available in me. And I could tap them. Like

  1. If I don’t walk 50k steps a week -> I loose 5$ #Fear
  2. If I complete my 3 main tasks for the week -> I earn 50$ towards buying a ergonomic computer chair :) #Greed

The idea that i could now stick to my plans, really excited me. So i wanted to build a system (robot) that would track me and automatically withdraw / deposit money from my account. In other towards I wanted a robot to pin down my free will to slack.

I landed upon Beeminder , an app that charges my card 5$ every time, i miss my plan. Since then, I have stuck to my plan of 50k steps/week for a month now :) Yaaayyyy !!

I setup a IFTTT that deposits 15$ towards my goals on Qapital. So every time, i complete a todo on todoist i get paid towards my greedy goals (which otherwise i feel guilty to buy, like a herman miller chair)

This has been working well for me so far. I feel sometimes Ineed to increase the amount to get me to do the harder stuff.

This is how I “buy” my discipline :)

How do you manage to be more disciplined? Tweet to me or email me

PS: Even this post is a result of the fear-greed hack! If I didn’t publish this post this week, i had to pay Shivek 10$.

--

--