My Journey Into Creative Design.

Immanuel Fadugba
CodebagNG
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2017

I’ve always loved and appreciated beauty - beautiful pictures, scenery, colours, animals, and people. I love looking at them, but I never thought I could possibly create beautiful things myself. I never analysed them so much as to how they’re made, or why they’re so beautiful.

Until…
I saw a beautiful advert one day for a design course in my school. "It wouldn’t hurt to register", I thought to myself. Plus, the advert poster was so beautiful. I needed to learn how to make something like that. Something beautiful.
And that’s where my journey began.

NOTE: I am not a creative person or thinker in any way.

When the design classes started, I attended each lesson religiously and listened attentively, to learn all I possibly could. The course ended after a couple weeks. And that was it. I still felt like I didn’t know enough. I felt I still couldn’t make such beautiful designs. But I kept practicing, and I was doing a lot of design jobs for free. Practice makes perfect, doesn’t it?

Fast forward a month or two, I'm working for this startup as the Visuals/Creative Developer. Cool, right? Pay isn't too great but who cares? I need a lot of jobs for practice. Consistency is key.
The good thing about my job at CodebagNG is that it encourages learning on the job. There is so much room to learn and improve on your skills. That's actually what the whole company is about - building people to become world-class in their fields.
Oh and my boss is a perfectionist. If something isn't perfect, I have to start over till I get it right. Quite tough but it helps. A lot.

Remember I told you I'm not the kinda guy that sees rainbows and geometric shapes when I close my eyes? But sometime somewhere I heard the phrase "Fake it till you make it", and I thought about it in a whole different way - if I could look at beautiful creations and appreciate them enough to want to create them myself, then I could also imitate them with the skills I've learnt in class and on the web. Repetition is the master of learning. So I figured by doing this often, I'd soon begin to see all the colours and shapes in my head as well, like @roughinkstudio, @ayanfee__ and @duro_arts on Instagram probably do.

I still have not mastered or even explored all the features of Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator now (can anyone?), But like I said, it's a journey, right? :-)
Hope you enjoyed my first article, or at least, endured it and managed to read it up to this point. I hope to write many more in the nearest future :-)
As my journey continues...

--

--