Jerry Adeleye
CodebagNG
Published in
4 min readSep 24, 2017

--

WHAT’S SO GREAT ABOUT JAVA ANYWAY?

In Obafemi Awolowo University, the institution that I school, there’s a persistent argument among software developers about which of Java, Python and Javascript, is the best programming language with the most applications in several platforms; that is web, mobile, desktop, server et cetera. Team Javascript has always been on the losing end, I wonder why, so that leaves Python and Java fighting for superiority. While my opinion has always been

“to each his own, every programming language has its own specialty, after all that’s why there’s so many programming languages out there.”

I feel more comfortable writing Java for the following reasons. Note: The following points are based on personal reasons.

You before this article.

Now before I start with my biased opinion, let me give a brief background on the Java language.

Java is a computing platform and a programming language developed in 1995 by James Gosling of Sun Microsystems. There, you’ll get to know more about this awesome language as you go on. Follow me.

  1. Once You Get It You Won’t Forget It

I started writing Python before Java and I had to write Java because it was a compulsory course in my faculty at school, it was difficult at first because of the easy syntax of Python so I got lazy. But as I got to know more about this language, I realized that I just needed to know one thing very well that is the concept of Object Oriented Programming (OOP), which is mostly what Java is about. Because of its simplicity, once I got an understanding of Object Oriented Programming in Java, I had no problem at all understanding any other concepts in Java, and as a life changing experience, I can never forget it.

By simplicity, I mean Java is user friendly. Using Java to write applications is stress free to progress and because of its object oriented nature it is easy to conceptualize an idea and to contextualize a problem.

  1. Java Is Legit Secure

The fact that Java is platform independent is a very big benefit to the language. By platform independent, I mean it comes with its own runtime environment when being installed on any platform, the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) enables code reusability, so users get code from several sources, mostly the internet (especially me, Stack Overflow things) and run them on Java without infecting the host platform with threats such as malware or virus, also files cannot be written from the hard drive to Java which makes it secure for use in mobile development. Finally, research has shown that various audits on Java have been undertaken by security experts and has scrutinized Java so its security is guaranteed.

  1. Java Of Most Trades (Write Once Use Everywhere)

Finally Java’s platform independence enables portability, which means code written once on one platform can be reused again regardless of the software and hardware platform, so any written Java code can be run on any platform and still feel at home. Apart from Java being platform independent, it has several tentacles in different aspects of software engineering like a badass octopus with more than eight tentacles, aspects like mobile, server, web apps, GUI and many more, what’s more is that Java offers efficiency in all of these aspects with a pretty intuitive API and inbuilt codes organized in packages and classes that can be used by the user. That’s pretty sweet right.

So to conclude, my three biased points on what is so great about java, I believe you’ll see Java as a very handy and useful tool in your tool box, or a very powerful weapon in your arsenal. Just try it once and you’d be hooked, yeah that’s the stuff.

You after reading this article.

--

--