Evie Skinner — C# Developer

codebar
codebar stories
Published in
4 min readDec 17, 2019

Evie is a C# developer at Sparta Global, she has been attending codebar since September 2018. First as a student and now as a coach. She started teaching herself to code in January 2018 before starting the Sparta Global bootcamp.

You can find Evie on the internet at:

Website | GitHub

  1. What did you want to be growing up?

I wanted to be a cartoonist and professional drummer.

2) When did your interest in tech start?

My interest in tech started properly over Christmas 2017, when I got a beginner’s book called ‘Get Coding’ as a present: this led to me starting my coding journey in January 2018. However, I have always been the sort of lady who is curious as to how and why people and things work they way they do. I’ve always loved tinkering with skateboards, drum kits, and gizmos!

3) How did you make the transition to being a developer?

Prior to becoming a software engineer, I was training to be a French and Spanish teacher in Newcastle. I made the transition by dropping out of my studies, spending my time coding every single day, and feverishly applying for graduate schemes, traineeships and junior roles all over the country. I found an opportunity with Sparta Global, and in April 2018, moved to London to start my twelve week coding bootcamp with them.

4) What was your first development job?

My first development job was as a C# developer, working as a contractor for Sparta Global at an insurance and pensions company. I have been in this role for a year now and I absolutely love it! I learnt the vast majority of C# that I now know on the job.

5) What is your favourite thing about being a developer?

My favourite thing is being able to learn something new pretty much every day. As a linguist, I am always fascinated by the ways in which human languages are constantly evolving; similarly, technology is also constantly evolving, which brings us technologists exciting challenges to tackle on a daily basis! I love being able to work with people like me who are a little bit eccentric too.

My favourite thing is being able to learn something new pretty much every day.

6) What is the coolest project you have worked on and why?

Definitely the coolest project I have worked on is DeliverAid. This was an idea I helped to create over the course of the London Fintech Week Hackathon earlier this year: it was delightful to work with such a dynamic, multi-skilled team of people from a variety of different backgrounds. Team DeliverAid won the hackathon with our presentation of an AI chatbot-driven solution that can help to co-ordinate the efforts of NGOs in the most efficient way possible. This enables those organisations to more effectively deliver the aid they provide to vulnerable individuals in crisis situations.

7) How did you get involved with codebar?

I first heard about codebar through my manager at the Sparta Academy. I remember my first workshop vividly: the hubbub of interesting people chatting about tech; the fizz of the fancy craft ales and the crunch of delicious pizza crusts. I couldn’t stop thinking “What, I’m getting professional 1:1 help with my project for FREE..??”. Couldn’t believe my luck to be honest!

8) Why do you keep coming back to codebar?

I think codebar is a marvellous community. I keep coming back because I always meet people there who stimulate the intellect, and I always feel welcome and supported there. Not to mention the food is always lush!

9) What are your plans for the future?

In future, I plan to coach at codebar more often. I have coached twice now and it feels wonderful to give something back to the organisation that has helped me. I would like to move back to my hometown, the People’s Republic of Stroud, and start some kind of coding initiative there, to help people in our community future-proof their careers.

10) What advice would you give to aspiring developers?

Always work as hard as you can. The best project you can develop is yourself: practise the art of spotting opportunities and exploiting their juicy goodness. Practise DIY/self-starting behaviours and a proactive attitude, and it will definitely get noticed. Adopt a growth mindset: if you do not have one yet, the amount of errors you will come across in the terminal will definitey teach you one. Always take things on the chin and appreciate how lucky you really are. Learn to appreciate a failure as an opportunity for growth. Enjoy life!

--

--

codebar
codebar stories

codebar is a non-profit initiative that facilitates the growth of a diverse tech community by running free weekly programming workshops.