From high school Python to EPAM — The story of our student, Attila Blascsák

CodeBerry Success Stories — 1st episode

Krzysztof
CodeBerry Blog
3 min readNov 9, 2017

--

Attila Blascsák (credit: Attila Blascsák)

Attila Blascsák is one of CodeBerry’s first users, who successfully changed his career and became a web developer after studying with us. We had a chat with Attila about how he got here, what he learned and the difficulties of finding a job as a junior developer.

When someone asked about your profession a few months ago, how did you answer?

I used to say my job is networking at IT Services, meaning that I helped big companies join the internet. Our task spread from assuring the router arrived at the customer to actually making it work.

And what is your answer now?

I’m a frontend UI developer at EPAM. I work in a bigger team, developing an application relying mainly on frontend technologies and designing the user interface. I use HTML, CSS and JavaScript on a daily basis.

That sounds great! So, programming wasn’t really a new task for you, was it? Did you encounter coding earlier?

Yes, I actually started using HTML and CSS during elementary school. Later in high school we used Python all the time, relying on an antique book. I had to quit doing it because the libraries cited by the author didn’t exist anymore, so the tasks were unsolvable. :)

Where did the idea of web development come from?

During my senior year of high school two guys approached me, saying they needed web developers for their startup. Back then I had no clue about what I was about to dive into, but I said yes and I soon got the hang of it.

Eventually we finished the project, but web development had caught my attention, so I continued learning it on my own. Finally, I ran into a dead end in spring, when I felt I can’t go on alone, I need a teacher.

That’s when I found you. :)

How long have you been studying with CodeBerry?

Since June 2016.

And how did you like it, what were the advantages?

To be honest, there wasn’t a tremendous amount of new information, but the course was great for recollecting my knowledge. The mentors helped me a lot — that was probably one of the best things in it. Having someone to discuss your problems with is a huge advantage.

That’s good to hear. Now it’s the beginning of autumn, that means you’ve gained enough knowledge in 3 months to find a job. How long did it take you to find one? (The interview took place in September 2016 — ed.)

Actually, I haven’t even decided to start looking for a job yet. :)

I created a LinkedIn profile, where I stated I was studying to become a junior developer and added my new skills too. Two weeks later EPAM contacted me.

I was going to create a portfolio before contemplating looking for a job, but EPAM was faster. They invited me to an interview right away.

I wanted to ask you if the search was difficult, but I guess we can skip this question.

Yes. (Laughs)

What is the next step for you? What direction are you taking?

React environment is my current favorite, I would like to learn more about it in the upcoming period.

It’s also a huge dream of mine to teach programming in some form. Giving lectures or taking part in some more specific program, I don’t know yet, nor do I know how it’s going to happen, but I’m sure it will happen somehow.

As a well-experienced student, do you have any tips for those just starting to code?

I think it’s important to understand that the learning process can’t really be accelerated. Programming is a big challenge, not easy in the beginning. But once you’ve got the hang of it and understand the logic, it all becomes clear. From that point onwards everything speeds up. :)

In “CodeBerry Success Stories” series we talk with our students who have already changed their careers and now work as developers. If you’re curious what they did to accomplish that, stay tuned for the next episodes!

Would you like to learn how to code? Come and try our first lessons for free at the CodeBerry Programming School.

--

--

Krzysztof
CodeBerry Blog

I’m a programming passionate and Computer Science student.