Code Sponsor joins Gitcoin

Eric Berry
CodeFund
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2018

In December, the Code Sponsor platform was forced into a pivot due to compliance issues with GitHub. Since then, my great friends Freddy Shelton and Mike Smith with Rollbar have kept the flame alive through direct sponsorships. I spent the month thinking about how to best continue the Code Sponsor mission.

Finding solutions to help sustain open source has become a passion of mine. Code Sponsor itself has helped generate over $10,000 in revenue for developers through the platform.

Thanks to a tweet last year by Tomás Aparicio, I had the great pleasure to discover Gitcoin. During the exact moment I saw his tweet, I was contemplating how to manage payments to over eight different countries. Cryptocurrency seemed an obvious choice. That day marked the beginning of a four-month courtship between Kevin Owocki, CEO of Gitcoin, and myself.

Since our first discussion in October, Kevin and I found that our company and personal goals are very similar. We both wanted to help grow the open source ecosystem by providing means for developers to generate paths of sustainability. Here’s an interview I did with Kevin discussing open source sustainability.

I’m extremely excited to announce that Code Sponsor has joined the Gitcoin + Bounties Network family. This change allows me to work on Code Sponsor full-time and continue to find and provide ways to sustain open source.

Simultaneously, I will venture into the world of blockchain as an employee of ConsenSys, a leading company in the space and lead investor in Gitcoin. The company has fully embraced decentralization, where spokes (like Gitcoin) are autonomous, yet supported by the ConsenSys Mesh.

I look forward to serving the developer community and bringing the blockchain technology into OSS funding!

--

--