You Don’t Need 4 Years to be Hireable

Zack Siri
Codemy School
Published in
3 min readJan 19, 2016

We’ve been brought up with the traditional education system, where in order to get a job to be productive, we have to put ourselves through 4 years of University to be considered ‘hireable’ for a job.

The truth is nowadays even if you put yourself through the best university you won’t be hireable because the university’s curriculum is so distant from whats required in the real world.

4 Years of What Exactly?

Why does it take 4 years to become anything? Has our education systems and tools not improved? Hasn’t information become more accessible and cheaper? Isn’t that the point of making things better, so that we can achieve more in less time and resources? If thats the case then why are universities so expensive?

Another question is why does it take the same amount of time to become proficient in every field? It takes 4 years to graduate to become anything, a programmer, a lawyer, a marketeer, a sales person?

We’ve been so comfortable as a society that we just accept the system without questioning it. In times where economy isn’t great, time is of the essence. Strong economies are built on people who produce, people who make things, and solve real problems. We’re spending 4 years getting people barely skilled enough to do work and along the way getting people into debt they can’t repay because they are not equipped with skills to get themselves out, sounds like a formula for a failing economy.

I can only speak for what I know, and I know the software industry. I’ve been working as an engineer, built teams, started and managed tech companies for the past 5 years and what I can say confidently is I learned most of my skills through working through real problems.

I have also had the opportunity to teach students to code. Students who came to me never having written a line of code. I was able to get them to the point of being productive in 3 months, not 4 years. They have gone on to work in top tech companies, or started their own companies.

I believe there are enough jobs, money, wealth of all sorts to go around. We just need to be willing to look at things differently. That’s why I am re-starting Codemy.net. Our goal at Codemy is to produce engineers who solve real world problems quickly without breaking the bank. Simple.

Thanks for Reading

My name is Zack Siri and I’m the founder of Codemy.net. I make free videos that help software engineers level up. I will also be making paid videos that are affordable and will get people from not having written a line of code to becoming hireable in a tech company in 3 months. Follow me on Twitter

--

--