The End of an Era

Katie Frances
the-coder-grrl
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2018

It’s been a really fast 5 months, I can’t believe it’s over. I learnt so much and met so many awesome people and I’ll miss it a lot. However, I start my internship next week, which is super exciting (and terrifying) but I’m really looking forward to learning from other developers & working in a professional environment.

My internship got pushed back a week, which has been really good for me actually because it’s given me time to work on my portfolio and catch up on some coding. It’s a really strange & awesome feeling to be going into a field that I love, and not waking up every morning dreading a job I hate.

Coding & technology for me have always been something I’ve been passionate about. From when I had my first subdomain in 1998 to when I started fiddling around with myspace (who wrote the code for that honestly, was it you, Tom? I’m blaming Tom) & to Tumblr, which opened me up to server side rendering, which I didn’t even know at the time. Suffice to say, coming from a design background; frontend has always been my comfort zone.

I’m looking forward to what the future holds and I can’t wait to jump into it feet first!

--

--

Katie Frances
the-coder-grrl

I’m a web dev who writes about tech, mental health & coding