Notifications

We are missing you at [INSERT YOUR APP NAME]

The Desktop
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018

--

Apps and websites are eager now, more than ever, to get your attention. Their (non secret) weapon? Notifications.

Today, we are in an new era called “Growth Hacking”. Or in other terms: “Do whatever it takes to get more users and keep them engaged”. And the champion in this league is probably Facebook.

Remember the last time you got a pop up telling you to accept notifications from a website? This morning? Yesterday? Probably not a long time ago.

So, I just want to tell you, if you’re an app/website developer, this is what your users want to see:

  • Yes, I want to get a notification when there is something on my calendar
  • Yes, I want to know if I received an important email
  • No, I don’t care if I didn’t enter your app in X days
  • No, I don’t care if something is trending
  • No, I don’t care about your -20%*

The first thing I do when I buy a new phone, is deactivating all notifications by default. Afterwards, I give the right to handful ones only. You should too, if it’s not the case already.

And for all those websites out there:

No, we don’t want to receive your notifications.

- All Internet users

* We all want free stuff and sales. But, apps are using it as a way of re-engaging us, nothing more.

Thank you for reading this. Every week, I publish an article. Join me in the journey by following my blog.

Last week’s article: Dear Facebook

--

--

The Desktop

I write. Code. And make food magically disappear.