Vow to crack Amazon WoW

Tanya Rajpal
Codess.Cafe
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2022

Hello readers! Tanya this side. I am currently a 3rd-year Computer Science and Engineering undergraduate pursuing my B.Tech degree from Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology. I recently interviewed with Amazon for SDE intern role and have grabbed an internship offer for summer 2022.

I would like to share with you all my experience for the same through this blog.

I applied for 2 months internship for the SDE role at Amazon through the Amazon WOW program 2021. In total, there were 3 rounds. Two of which were OA rounds and one was an interview round.

Application Process: (May 2021)

The application process began in May 2021. All the eligible candidates who were interested could register themselves through the Amazon WOW portal for the program.

Eligibility Criteria :

Amazon WoW 2021 was open to all women students across engineering campuses in India.

Any female student pursuing a four-year B.Tech/BE or two-year MCA, M.Tech/ME program, or five-year Dual Degree can participate.

Events :

After the application process, online events were conducted for all the shortlisted eligible candidates. Around 6–7 events were conducted before our first online assessment. Events such as Demystifying Tech Roles at Amazon, How to build a resume, Tech Interviews Decoded, Meet the Leader Series, Online Assessment Study Session, etc… were conducted.

Round 1: Online Assessment 1 ( 16-August-2021)

In this OA round, there was 1 coding question and 40 MCQs.This round was of 1 hr 30 minutes.

There were 9 sections in this round.

1. Hands-on programming ( 1 coding question): easy-medium level string question was asked.

2. Data Structure ( 5 MCQs )

3. Algorithms ( 5 MCQs )

4. Linux ( 5 MCQs )

5. Pseudo Code ( 5 MCQs )

6. Networking ( 5 MCQs )

7. Software Testing ( 5 MCQs )

8. Software engineering ( 5 MCQs )

9. Database Query ( 5 MCQs )

Tips:

Practice easy-medium level questions from Leetcode, Codeforces ( 800–1100 tagged questions ), and practice MCQs from GFG and Sanfoundry.

I solved the coding question with all test cases passed and attempted almost all MCQs correctly.

Result: Shortlisted for the next round.

Round2: Online Assessment — II (25- August- 2021)

The entire OA round was of 145 minutes. There were 4 sections and the breakdown of each section was as follows:

  1. Code debugging section ( 20 minutes ) : 7 questions.
  2. Coding section ( 70 minutes ): 2 coding questions (1 medium and other hard)
  3. WorkStyle Assessment ( 20 minutes )
  4. Logical Reasoning ( 35 minutes )

I solved all code debugging questions correctly. For the coding section I could solve 1 question entirely and for the other 10/13 test cases got passed.

Tips: Practice medium level questions from Leetcode and Codeforces (div2 (A-B-C questions) )

Result: Shortlisted for interview round.

Round 3: Interview Round (3-October-2021)

  1. The interview started with the introduction of the interviewer and then he asked for my introduction.
  2. Then he directly jumped onto the coding questions,

i . The first question was a medium-level tree question. The interviewer asked me to give all the corner test cases that I could think of and then asked me to explain my approach to solve the question. I gave him all the corner cases and explained my approach. He was convinced with it and asked me to code it out. I coded my approach. He then asked me questions related to my code like why I was using pass by reference in my code, what’s the difference between pass by reference, address, and value, and a few other follow-up questions. I explained everything and he was pleased with my solution.

ii. Then he moved to the next question, it was a medium-level stack question. I explained him my approach and coded it. The interviewer looked satisfied enough with my solution.

3. At the end he asked me if I have any questions for him. I asked him 2 questions related to Amazon's work-life and tech stack and then the interview ended.

Tips: Think out loud . Keep on saying everything that is going on in your mind in order to get the solution . Even when you are writing the code , be vocal on why you are writing that line of code.

Result: I got selected for 2 months internship for the SDE role at Amazon for the summer of 2022.

Do connect with me on LinkedIn if you have any questions or need some guidance with the procedure 😄

If you liked this article, please hit the clap button, leave a comment, and do follow Codess.Cafe for more such insightful stories.

Codess.Cafe: LinkedIn | YouTube | Website | Medium | Twitter

--

--