5 Tools and Resources to Step Up Your Developer Game

Natalie Baker
codetteclub
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2017

So, we know that learning to code is a lot of fun, but it’s also super challenging. When you’re a self-taught developer, sometimes you can feel overwhelmed by all the options out there. Or maybe you’ve painted yourself into a corner at some point, and needed a little direction to get productive again. These are some of the resources I’ve used to get back on my game when feeling lost or stuck.

Sololearn

If you’re interested in learning to code, the sololearn app is a great place to get started. The gamified structure introduces you to a variety of programming languages. This was one of the first resources I tried when I decided to learn to code, and I loved having something productive and interesting to do at the washateria. I got a taste of python, php, javascript, and more while waiting on my towels to dry. Sololearn is a fun way to try out a new language in your spare time and get a good idea of if you want to learn more.

Fullpage.js

If you are looking for that finishing touch to really make your single page website look crisp and professional, the fit-to-screen scrolling frames of fullpage.js could be your answer. This well-documented javascript library is easy to add to your page via cdn and start using right away. I heard about fullpage recently at a coding meetup, and I am super excited to use it in the next iteration of my portfolio.

Firebase hosting

This is a quick and easy way to get your project online fast and for free. As a google product, firebase has great documentation so anyone can get their page up and running in no time. Anything from a simple html and css single page website to a full stack application can be easily deployed from the command line. I use firebase to host live examples of pages I’ve built for my courses and clients as permanent versions of my work.

Hacksparrow

Hacksparrow features tons of great articles for fullstack javascript developers. This blog has been a lifesaver while working through the @freecodecamp backend projects. It’s the first place I look for hints on back-end development problems.

Learntocodewith.me

If great content, the best resources, and awesome freebies are what you are into, Laurence Bradford’s blog, Learn to Code With Me, is where you should be. I first learned about this blog (and podcast!) during a Skillcrush webinar, and I’ve been following ever since!

These are just a few of the excellent resources available online for web developers! If you’re still stuck, flex your Google muscles and keep looking- the answer is out there and it’s probably on the internet. Have you tried any of these resources before? Where do you look for inspiration when you’re feeling stuck? Let me know how you’ve tackled coder’s block in the comments!

--

--