10 Software Engineer Types You’ll Meet In Every Company

And how to best work with them

Attila Vágó
CodeX
Published in
9 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

Photo by Redd on Unsplash

There are countless articles and listicles out there covering the various aspects around software engineering and more specifically, the people who do this work, how they do it and why, how to spot the good ones, the bad ones. Frankly, there is little left to be said, and every time I see another story on the matter, I realise it’s more or less a verbatim copy of all the others. The one article that I was looking for many times, I have not yet come across, so finally decided to write it myself. Perhaps others can share their experiences and contribute towards a more accurate picture of all the software engineer types that many of us have already met.

I wanted to go one step further, though. I felt it would be better not to write a judgemental article and stir controversy, but rather one that offers a blue-print to software engineer types and how to work best with each type, because I believe in diversity and the value that each type brings to a team, while also highlighting their shortcomings. Just like the saying goes “the right tool for the right job”, I hope that by the end of this article we’ll all agree that “the right engineer for the right task” also applies.

The Lone-wolf 🐺

--

--

Attila Vágó
CodeX

Staff software engineer, tech writer, author and opinionated human. LEGO and Apple fan. Accessibility advocate. Life enthusiast. Living in Dublin, Ireland. ☘️