Apple Macbook

48 Hours with the M1 MacBook Air

My first impressions

Craig McWha
CodeX
Published in
5 min readOct 15, 2021

--

Photo by Howard Bouchevereau on Unsplash

I have coveted the M1 MacBook Air since its launch in 2020. There has been so much hype surrounding this device, and more articles written about it than even I could possibly get through. I finally took the plunge and purchased the 8/512 model this week, and I’ve now had 48 hours to form some initial thoughts. Is it everything I hoped it would be?

Build Quality

Apple has always made premium devices. The M1 MBA does not break this trend. I have the Space Grey model because I’m not a monster. It is a beautiful piece of tech, engineered and crafted to the finest tolerance levels. There have apparently been complaints about cracked screens when using a hard-case, and I can see how that would be possible. There’s simply no room. I have invested in a sleeve to protect my device when not in use, and that’s as far as I’ll go.

Apple claims that the chassis is manufactured using 100% recycled aluminium. Some have said this is purely from recycled beer cans. It pleases me no end to think that I have most likely contributed to 100’s of these devices in my own small way… Apple also claims to use 100% recycled solder on the internals. Strong Green credentials for a major tech company, and something more companies should concentrate on…

--

--

Craig McWha
CodeX
Writer for

Former rough sleeper, UK RAF veteran, graduate. Interested in society and social issues. A growing interest in tech stuff and Cyber Security.