5 VS Code Themes For A Modern Code Editor

Aaron Berry
CodeX
Published in
4 min readFeb 24, 2022

--

If you’re currently using VS Code with your theme that you picked up a long time ago or just the default one it may be getting a bit stale and you might be looking to spice up your developer environment to keep it looking fresh. In this post, I’ve put 5 of my favourite themes I like to change through to make working on code that much easier on the eyes.

The Themes

Now if you haven’t installed a theme before in VS Code you can check out the docs here to guide you in everything you need to know about VS Code themes. Below in no particular order is are some of my favourite themes to use in my developer environment.

Cobalt2

This is one of my personal favourite themes and I have been using it for a long time. This theme provides a good middle between a dark theme and a lighter theme with the yellows used as a contrast to the background dark and light blues without being too bright to strain your eyes over long periods of time. I like to pair this one up with material icons pack for a nice clean environment.

--

--

Aaron Berry
CodeX
Writer for

Software Engineer working in Data Engineer and DevOps. Tinkering with anything automation, containers and servers in the cloud.