CODEX

8 Tips for Custom Drupal Migrations with Drush

Nevin Katz
CodeX
7 min readMar 27, 2021

--

Photo by Jordi Fernandez on Unsplash

Two weeks after having finished several successful test migrations of our Drupal content authoring site, I thought the hard part was over. I had used Drupal core’s migration UI for these test migrations, and our essential content had come through. With the challenging technology steps seemingly out of the way, I was setting about to figuring out my migration schedule.

Then, one Friday afternoon, I gathered that some new content was coming into our D7 site that would require Paragraphs — bundles of fields that could be placed within a content type field. I had heard whispers of Paragraph migrations being possible, but I had not looked into what this would require.

After our team added some new content laden with Paragraphs, I ran a test migration and found out early on that Paragraphs would not be migrated using the Drupal UI method. Thus began my journey into Drupal custom migrations with Drush, a command-line tool that opens possibilities for custom migration operations that are not possible with Drupal core’s migration UI.

When to use custom migrations

Indeed, the through-line permeating my corner of the Drupal community these days is that the Drupal core’s migration UI is typically only effective for relatively simple sites. For…

--

--

Nevin Katz
CodeX

Developer at EDC. I write about web development and biology. Subscribe at https://buttondown.email/nevkatz for article roundups.