Apple

After 2 Months Using the M1 MacBook Air Do I Have Buyers Remorse?

Has the M1 MBA lived up to expectations?

Craig McWha
CodeX
Published in
7 min readDec 10, 2021

--

A photo of an iPhone, a coffee cup and a MacBook
Photo by Sebastian Bednarek on Unsplash

I was a late arrival to the world of Apple silicon and the M1 SOC devices. It was only in October of 2021 that I took the plunge and purchased the M1 MBA (8Gb, 8 graphics cores, 512Gb SSD.) My initial impressions were extremely positive.

I have now been using this device for around 2 months. I’ve experimented with different apps and set-ups. There have been many positives and a few surprises. Read on to find what I’ve learned about this device in the two months I’ve been using the MBA.

My use-case: Your mileage may vary

I have two specific tasks for which I use my MBA. One is writing. The other is studying. Of course, I also use it for media consumption, emails, web browsing etc. but that is standard for most people across all platforms (i.e. Windows, macOS, ChromeOS, Linux etc.)

--

--

Craig McWha
CodeX
Writer for

Former rough sleeper, UK RAF veteran, graduate. Interested in society and social issues. A growing interest in tech stuff and Cyber Security.