Bootcrap 5.2, Further Exploring The HTML Illiteracy Of Framework Developers.

Jason Knight
CodeX
Published in
21 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Photo by Arny Mogensen on Unsplash

In a recent article of mine I used a small snippet to show the basic pointless code bloat, and utter ignorance of the most basic of HTML concepts common to the people creating frameworks. That piece of code came from this full example:

https://getbootstrap.com/docs/5.2/examples/features/

I said that where they have 24k of code bloat HTML, I’d probably only have 6k or less. I hate saying things like that without backing it up, so let’s venture into analyzing everything wrong in that example, and doing a clean simple rewrite in vanilla HTML and CSS.

Casual Surface Inspection

Right out of the gate their layout is broken for me as a non-standard font-size user. The reason for this is obvious, I’m getting the wrong media queries because they’re using PX metric widths and queries with dynamic fonts.

This is a plain and clear /FAIL/ at the most basic of CSS layout concepts, and I recognize that before I even look at the code. I’ve said it time and time again, PX is the enemy.

The next thing I try is heading navigation on my braille reader. As an accessibility consultant it’s one of the first things to try, and it’s plain as day the developer doesn’t know what numbered headings…

--

--

Jason Knight
CodeX

Accessibility and Efficiency Consultant, Web Developer, Musician, and just general pain in the arse