Building a Raspberry Pi Audio Receiver

Remo Hoeppli
CodeX
Published in
8 min readApr 5, 2021

--

Photo by Teguh Baskoro on Unsplash

TL;DR

This post shows how to use a Raspberry Pi to build an audio receiver supporting Bluetooth streaming, AirPlay, Spotify Connect and, UPnP.

I recently wrote another article on this topic, since I wanted to see if meanwhile there might be another even better solution to building a Raspberry Pi audio receiver. My new article covers HifiBerryOS a dedicated project for this purpose, that, in my opinion, is much more advanced than the solution described in the article here. You can find the article here.

Upgrading your old HiFi system

So many of us still have this old HiFi system, that did cost a fortune back in the time but isn’t used so often anymore since we mostly stream music from Spotify, Soundcloud, Mixcloud, YouTube, and other streaming platforms. What if I told you there is an easy way to give your HiFi system an upgrade by reusing that Raspberry Pi which is getting dusty somewhere between your other tech gadgets.

Surely, one could also just buy a streaming device that supports all the technologies necessary. I already browsed for a well-suited device but didn’t buy it in the end, because of the high price or maybe also because I didn’t really know what technology to go for. Since the technology decision is nowadays a commitment to a certain…

--

--

Remo Hoeppli
CodeX
Writer for

I am a co-founder and software engineer at Earlybyte. Further, I’m a technology enthusiast and minimalism advocate, striving for simplicity and efficiency.