But I Wanted To Change The World!

Dr Stuart Woolley
CodeX
Published in
6 min readMar 30, 2024

--

It’s just a matter of choosing not to settle, being contrary and non-conforming, and ultimately just being yourself.

“Image generated using OpenAI’s DALL·E.”

Today, a short motivational missive that HR really very likely wouldn’t let me circulate in a corporate environment, and management would certainly have IT removed from the company gOneDrive.

I’ve never been much of a career person to be completely honest, something you can tell if you’ve enough strength to brave the mess that is LinkedIn and then manage to read through my own varied and irregular work history.

You see, I’m very much a believer in doing, whenever possible, whatever you fancy doing, and avoiding like the plague the things that you don’t.

For example, I’ve never been interested in management as I feel it’s a dead end exercise and lacks any kind of stimulation, being an ultimately a non-technical exercise where advancement is based on time served rather than any kind of intellectual accomplishment or technical merit.

The same is true for certain programming languages, I just like some and really don’t like others and I make no apologies for it.

JavaScript is an entry level typeless nightmare that escaped from a browser and should be re-imprisoned immediately, Java should have been taken outside and buried behind the shed before it…

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley
CodeX

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.