Can you learn too many Programming languages?

Stephanie De Smedt
CodeX
Published in
5 min readAug 15, 2022

--

Photo by Omar Flores on Unsplash

Almost everyone has heard the quote “A jack of all trades is a master of none”. The quote implies that a person who tries to learn too many things will never master a topic… however, did you know that isn't the full quote?

In full the quote reads:

“A jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one.”

Written in this way the quote paints a different picture and is significantly less helpful in deciding whether it is wise to learn a new skill or improve the ones you already have!

So that brings us to my current challenge: is it possible to learn too many programming languages? Or is it better to stick with just one?

Why this topic matters to me?

I began teaching myself programming around six months ago and have been following a fairly traditional Frontend Developer path. I started with learning HTML and CSS and then added in JavaScript.

Once I got to a beginner level with each of these languages I began learning the React framework and challenging myself with different projects in an attempt to refine my skills. All very straightforward and a fairly textbook approach.

--

--

Stephanie De Smedt
CodeX

Project Manager learning Web and Mobile Development. A lifelong learner with a travel and coffee problem.