Complete Self-Hosted Bitwarden for Raspberry Pi

mr.smashy
CodeX
Published in
10 min readNov 27, 2021

--

Self hosting a modern password manager with MFA, backups, DDNS, a certificate, and enhanced security

Why Would You Do This?

Password managers are a good idea. I’ve used a password manager for over ten years. But not all password managers are equal. I started using browser based password managers, then quickly migrated to KeePass. Ten years ago this was a good choice. I was able to export my passwords out of my different browsers into my KeePass database and built my password management strategy from there. But time has moved forward, and there are better password managers available. I had read good things about Bitwarden, and when I learned I could self host it, I knew this was the way forward for me. I had used LastPass with Mobile for a bit, but when they limited syncing with their free plans, I removed it from my mobile devices. Bitwarden offers some of the same features LastPass does, but by self-hosting I could add more, specifically YubiKey support. Reports on compromised, weak, and reused passwords are excellent things to have, simply not offered by KeePass. Bitwarden is generally recognized as the best open-source password manager available.

What Are the Requirements?

You can run everything required on a single Raspberry Pi 3B+. Bitwarden consumes…

--

--

mr.smashy
CodeX

Cybersecurity architect. Security dev and researcher. Infosec nerd. Linux enthusiast. All opinions and views are my own. Polite, professional, prepared.