Day2: Tableau Learning: Create a Sample Bar Chart and Loading Data

Shoeb Ahmed
CodeX
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2023

I am referring to the Tutorialspoint video lecture from my learning standpoint, I hope you feel useful from my content.

Tableau Logo
Tableau Public Home

You can click on that. You will visit a page that contains the dataset for practising.

DataSet Resources

You can download the dataset you like, I am going to use Superstore Sales Dataset.

Now we are going to import the data for practising, we can see on the left panel of Tableau, there is Connect is mentioned. Connect is used to connect to various data sources.

Left Panel

I am going to click on Microsoft Excel, and I am going to import the file where the downloaded Superstore Sales dataset is present.

Importing Dataset

After loading the Superstore Sales dataset our screen look like this:

The Superstore Sales dataset is loaded successfully

Now we have to click on Orders or drag the Orders into the Drag tables here region. After that click on “Sheet1” which is below “Go to Worksheet”.

The output of the Clicking or Dragging Orders sheet

We can see below the display of Sheet 1. Now I am dragging the Category Field in columns and Sales in Row.

Sheet 1

Now adding the field to Columns and Rows will automatically create a bar graph.

Bar Graph

On the right-hand side, you can see the green arrow pointing to a pie chart. I am going to click on Pie Chart.

Pie Chart

Now you can see the Pie Chart report and you can move the cursor around the color, it will display the data.

Thank you, please give tips that motivate us to keep writing for you guys.

--

--