Did The Bible Predict Artificial Intelligence?

Or have I just been spotting shapes in the clouds?

Derek London
CodeX

--

Image from http://www.e-prophetic.com/articles/who-or-what-is-babylon-the-great-part-1/

I’ve been writing extensively about artificial intelligence lately. Most of these discussions have been based on a book called 2084, written by Professor John Lennox — which I’d highly recommend you read if you’re interested in AI. This will be the last instalment of those discussions. Today, I wanted to address how Professor Lennox, being a devout Christian, closes his book. He takes a very eschatological and biblical turn here.

We all have a worldview!

I hope I’ve made it abundantly obvious throughout my recent forays on artificial intelligence and Lennox’s book that I have nothing but respect for this man. I think he is astute, perceptive, humane, relatable and an engaging author too.

I also have zero complaints concerning his opinions which are palpably influenced by his Judeo-Christian background. I mean, look, we all have a worldview. And Professor Lennox is anything but irrational, even though we have many differences of opinion. If you’re new here, I am something of an Atheist, personally.

Interpretive Acrobatics

Anyway, his last six chapters of the book not only feature his biblical views toward AI, but the last…

--

--

Derek London
CodeX
Writer for

Editor for Diogenes Lounge. Writer for ILLUMINATION and a YouTube personality. Subscribe to my channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHBpAoID8i6tqz6ksLSY8ow