Discovering Godot’s pseudolocalisation (Godot 4/C#)

Did you know you can test a multilingual game even without your translation data ready?

Mina Pêcheux
CodeX

--

So a few weeks ago, I did a tutorial on a basic dialogue system à-la JRPG.

In this tutorial, I discussed, among other things, how to localise the texts and audio to have multiple languages in a game.

Today, I want to continue on this topic of internationalisation by focusing on the texts, and talking about another really cool built-in tool in Godot: the pseudolocalisation utilities.

By the end of this article, you’ll know several tips and tricks for preparing your internationalised content even before you’ve finished translating all of your game’s data, and how to anticipate the various difficulties making a project multi-lingual can bring…

Of course, don’t forget that you can get the demo scene and all the assets for this example on my Github 🚀 with all my other Godot tutorials :)

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
CodeX

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)