CODEX

Export and Import Your Drupal Configurations With Ease

Nevin Katz
CodeX
5 min readMar 20, 2021

--

Photo by Guillaume Bolduc on Unsplash

Two sides of the Drupal coin

Like many other content management systems, Drupal websites have two sides to them: the code and the database. While the code is often under direct control by developers, the database can be ever-changing due to frequent content updates. And for those who are migrating from Drupal 7 to Drupal 8 or 9, figuring out when to run the migration can be challenging if the Drupal 7 site’s content is ever-evolving.

Such was the case with a site I had been working on this month. It had been a few days after having run my first successful database migration from my Drupal 7 website to its new Drupal 9 counterpart. I was feeling pretty good and figuring out the next steps. With all the content now sitting comfortably on the D9 site, I had installed my new sub-theme and was started to build out some nice JSON views.

In the midst of my configuration work with these D9 views, however, one reality I had to consider was that due to the needs of our projects, people still had to use our Drupal 7 site and would continue adding new content to it for the next month or so. And to move over their new content in a few weeks, I would have to drop all my database tables, import my starter D9 database, and start the migration over. If only there…

--

--

Nevin Katz
CodeX

Developer at EDC. I write about web development and biology. Subscribe at https://buttondown.email/nevkatz for article roundups.