Have We Already Stunted AI Growth?

Dr Stuart Woolley
CodeX
Published in
7 min readFeb 16, 2024

--

If we really want an AGI then, perhaps, we shouldn’t keep restricting it.

“Image generated using OpenAI’s DALL·E.”

I’m a bit conflicted about the current direction that AI research, and more recently implementation, is taking so today let’s take a look at this with what was originally a short, but rapidly became a long, train of thought almost philosophical discussion about what it is that’s worrying me.

I see useful some chatbots for coding, though I wouldn’t trust them, I see useful picture generators, even through they’re most often eerily similar and almost always too comic like, and I even interact with some useful general chatbots, but they’re honest pretty boring when it comes to the prose that they use to dress up the information I’m looking for.

It makes me wonder therefore that if this direction of research (and unfortunately monetisation) is going to succeed at all, and if we’re really going about it in the best and most productive way possible.

From a computer science point of view we’re fundamentally just exploring a (really quite large) state space that consists of an awful lot of little points of data. We then move in this direction, then that direction, and finally coming to rest somewhere as a result of a part random, part intentional directional biased algorithm¹.

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley
CodeX

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.