How I Scheduled Tasks Seamlessly: Using sched and APScheduler in Python

Discovering sched

Gabe Araujo, M.Sc.
CodeX
Published in
5 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Photo by Mohammad Rahmani on Unsplash

It all started when I realized my life was a chaotic mess. Not the kind of mess where you misplace your keys or forget to water the plants. No, this was the kind of mess where deadlines were missed, meetings overlapped, and my calendar looked like a Jackson Pollock painting. I was drowning in a sea of missed opportunities and broken promises. It was time for a change, and I found my lifeline in two unexpected allies: sched and APScheduler in Python.

You see, I’m a coder by trade and an organizational mess by nature. The irony isn’t lost on me. But the day I decided to harness the power of Python to bring order to my chaotic life was the day everything changed.

The Descent into Chaos

Let me take you back a bit. Picture this: It’s a Wednesday afternoon, and I’ve just missed an important client call. Again. My phone buzzes with angry messages, and my email inbox is a dumpster fire of unread messages. I’m sweating bullets because my boss is about to walk in and ask for the status report that I haven’t even started. Panic sets in.

“Seriously, how do you keep doing this to yourself?” I mutter under my breath, running my hands through my hair in frustration. It’s not like I don’t care…

--

--

Gabe Araujo, M.Sc.
CodeX
Writer for

CEO & Founder of CodeCraft Publications 🌍 Educator in Automation, Data Science, and AI 🛠 Empowering learners with free resources: https://tinyurl.com/2j5x6a5c