How to Code a Simple Chess Game in Python

Step-by-step guide for building a command-line chess game

X.S.
CodeX

--

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

I remembered when I first started learning how to code, I was excited that I could do things like print Hello World! , but I realized a lot of online courses lacked lessons on how to actually get started in building something from scratch. What usually happens is each lesson provided incomplete code and asked the student to complete it through a series of tasks. But how do I actually use what I learned to make something that I want? Which files do I create? How do I make them interact with each other? How do I actually run it on my computer?

Introduction

In this guide, I will provide a step-by-step process on how you can code your own command line chess game. That means, I will do my best to provide as little code for you as possible so that you can think about how to actually implement the idea and instead provide a framework for you to go along that you could potentially apply to your own next project. However, I will provide the code I’ve written at the end of this guide in case you ever get stuck or you just wanted to play chess.

The resulting game is a command-line chess game, meaning there is no dragging and dropping off pieces with your mouse, but instead, your command line will take…

--

--

X.S.
CodeX
Writer for

Previously featured on Tell Your Story, Prism & Pen, and Write Here Wednesday