How to Install A Windows OS For Free On A Hetzner Virtual Machine

Virtualization has made Windows virtual machines accessible and affordable

Eric Kleppen
CodeX

--

Photo by Ant Rozetsky on Unsplash

Welcome to the Cloud

Cloud computing has grown into a multi-billion dollar industry over the past decade and will continue growing as the cost of compute resources gets cheaper. While many people have heard of cloud service providers like Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud and Digital Ocean, I prefer to use Hetzner.com when I need to spin up virtual machines in the cloud. They are cheap, reliable, and packed with options. You can even install Windows Server on to them for free.

In this article, I’ll walk you through all the necessary steps to install Windows Server 2019.

Why I Like Hetzner Cloud

Beyond the cheap prices, Hetzner makes it super easy to rescale your machine depending on your resource needs. When I created a Magic: The Gathering card search engine, I started with a VM that ran 2vcpu and 4 GB of RAM. I needed…

--

--