How to migrate from Apple Notes to Microsoft OneNote and escape Apple’s Walled Garden.

Marcus Platt
CodeX
Published in
6 min readSep 20, 2021

--

Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

Recently, I was tempted by a cheap(ish) Microsoft Surface Duo, which caused me to re-imagine my productivity workflow. Unfortunately, I knew having to squeeze in a new Android (or Windows) device into my Apple workflow would cause me some pain. Annoyingly this would be Self-inflicted pain, due to recently moving my productivity workflow to the Apple default apps.

Migrate to Apple Apps — straightforward, as it should be.

Six months ago, I moved to the stock Apple productivity apps. My To-Do app requirements had simplified over the years (OmniFocus > Nozbe > Things 3), I no longer need a powerful project management type app. Furthermore, my Evernote subscription was due for renewal and Evernote’s direction, now with a To-do process. (Who asked for that?) Evernote's bloated apps were not what I wanted. I decided it was time for a change.

Things 3 > Apple Reminders

Evernote > Apple Notes

Migrating Evernote Notes into Apple Notes was straightforward and simple. The macOS Apple notes app has a great Evernote .enex file import function. Export all your notes from the macOS Evernote app as a .enex file, import that into Apple Notes. A bit of a tidy up. Job done…

--

--

Marcus Platt
CodeX

Tech, Photography and Apple nerd who writes occasionally.