Notes

How to Use Bear as the Ultimate Note-Taking App

Notetaking on a Mac

Craig McWha
CodeX
Published in
4 min readOct 26, 2021

--

A brown bear
Photo by Mark Basarab on Unsplash

I love Ulysses. It is my primary writing tool. It has practically everything I need to be productive when writing. It is almost perfect. Almost, but not quite.

And that is where Bear fits in.

Bear is a beautiful, stripped-back writing tool. It isn’t as full-featured as Ulysses but that is a strength as well as a weakness. For simple note-taking, its very simplicity is why it beats Ulysses in that category.

How I use Bear for Note-Taking

Bear works superbly used in conjunction with other apps as a note-taking app. I combine it with Spark and Notion to create a database of job searches. I use the Bear web clipper to save web pages and annotate them as I see fit, then export to Notion to save in a research folder (via the iCloud). I create to-do lists, shopping lists, writing prompts, blog ideas and more.

Bear — Basic Operation

Before we go any further, there are two tiers of Bear. Paid and free. You can try out the full paid version on a free trial prior to paying the small subscription fee. The paid version gives you a few more themes and a few more export options. Also, you get a warm glow from supporting the…

--

--

Craig McWha
CodeX
Writer for

Former rough sleeper, UK RAF veteran, graduate. Interested in society and social issues. A growing interest in tech stuff and Cyber Security.