I Finally Gave up On Java

Because it sucks.

Josef Cruz
CodeX

--

Photo by Carli Jeen on Unsplash

Recently, I got into a sterile discussion about the superiority of C# over Java. There was the main argument of Java fanboy, Fri. “You have no idea what you’re talking about. You don’t use Java”.

Well, almost. I have been working as a programmer in this clumsy language for several months. I have finally decided to pour my regrets onto your screens.

Getters and setters

Java, WTF? I understand the convention of encapsulating fields and data sharing/modification by functions. My question is since this is practically a mandatory part of using a language and every framework requires adherence to this rule, why couldn’t it fit on one line?

Managing code decorated with getters and setters is hell. The lack of a meaningful solution to the problem of getters and setters is just the tip of the iceberg.

No syntactic icing

You are operating on a collection. You want her first item. What are you doing? Of course, you call the method instead of using the operator [] used in arrays. The reason is simple: operators cannot be overloaded. Virtually everything you do must be described with a word, the method's name.

--

--

Josef Cruz
CodeX
Writer for

Entrepreneur, coder, husband, father. I spend my days on the web learning and sharing information across the globe.