Just how productive is the Surface Duo?

Marcus Platt
CodeX
Published in
7 min readSep 5, 2021

--

Author

There’s a bit of fire sale of the Microsoft Surface Duo at the moment as Microsoft and vendors try to clear their stocks before the Surface Duo 2 is (most probably) announced. On the Microsoft Store, the price has dropped from £1,379.00 to £679.00. If you shop around you can get one for under £600 which is what I did and paid £576.00 to take a look at this intriguing device. A device that I hoped might improve my mobile productivity workflow.

Apple Ecosystem

My tech setup is very Apple-centric, MacMini, MacBook Air, iPhone, iPad, but the Surface Duo appealed to me greatly. My thoughts were, it could fit into my commuting setup best, adding to my mobile productivity workflow. Currently, my iPad Pro 11 (2019) travels with me into London every day. I happily squeeze it onto the ‘airplane’ table with the Apple Magic Keyboard and catch up on the news, email, watch some YouTube or Netflix or do some writing on occasiondays. Somedays, the iPad feels a little big and heavy, especially when I need to travel with my MacBook 13” also, which is too big for the airplane table to use comfortably.

I’ve owned Android Phones (S10+ being the last) and Microsoft Surface Pro (and Go) Laptops, so I am open to trying other ecosystems. I read the reviews on the Surface Duo, the initial ones in Sept 2020 and then the later ones. It was…

--

--

Marcus Platt
CodeX

Tech, Photography and Apple nerd who writes occasionally.