Linux for Smartphones

In a world run by Apple and Google, where does Linux fit in?

mr.smashy
CodeX

--

When it all started

What Did I Do?

I found a good deal on an excellent used Google Pixel 3a XL on eBay and made an impulse buy. That being said, this is my third phone; I own a nice flagship Samsung Galaxy, and work has given me an iPhone 11 (which I solely use for work). The Pixel was actually in excellent condition as described, and I proceeded to unlock the bootloader and follow the install procedures for Ubuntu Touch. The Pixel 3a XL is generally regarded as a solid mid-range phone (”phablet”) with a large OLED display, large battery, and good camera. It’s well supported by Ubuntu Touch, with the only unsupported feature being wireless external monitor, and that is not a deal breaker for me. The install procedure took about 30 minutes including downloading and flashing.

Default Ubuntu Touch wallpaper and app icons.

What Is It Like?

Ubuntu Touch is a modern smartphone operating system. It is not as polished as Android or iOS, and has a 2014ish feel, but it’s very usable, and there is no dissonance or major issues trying to use the phone. Some gestures to navigate are familiar, some are slightly different…

--

--

mr.smashy
CodeX
Writer for

Cybersecurity architect. Security dev and researcher. Infosec nerd. Linux enthusiast. All opinions and views are my own. Polite, professional, prepared.