CODEX

macOS transition from Bash to Zsh

Remo Hoeppli
CodeX
6 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Customized Zsh shell

TL;DR

This blog post is about my findings from my personal transition from Bash to Zsh and describes how I got auto-completion for some small tools such as SSH config files and Git to work correctly and how I gave my new Zsh the look and feel of a modern shell using starship cross-shell prompt.

End of an era

Every macOS user who uses the Terminal regularly might at some point have come across the message that introduced the end of the Bash era when upgrading from macOS Mojave to Catalina.

My first attempt to work around this message was by simply ignoring it. After a while, it began to bother me, and I found another quick but efficient solution by silencing the deprecation message by adding the following command to my ~/.bash_profile file:

This simple move was nothing more than burying my head in the sand, pretending that there was no transition to do. Anyway, it worked pretty well for almost one year. Then over Christmas when deciding to upgrade to macOS Big Sur, I thought…

--

--

Remo Hoeppli
CodeX

I am a co-founder and software engineer at Earlybyte. Further, I’m a technology enthusiast and minimalism advocate, striving for simplicity and efficiency.