Making a RTS game #50: Implementing a technology tree 1/3 (Unity/C#)

Let’s keep working on our RTS and implement some technology trees!

Mina Pêcheux
CodeX
Published in
14 min readFeb 24, 2022

--

⬅️ Interlude #4: Improving the healthbars| TOC | Tutorial #51: Implementing a technology tree 2/3 ➡️

📕 Get the ebook and bonus material on Gumroad!
🚀 Find the code of this tutorial series on my Github!

As I’ve hinted at in the last episodes, I’m slowly closing this “phase 1” of the Unity RTS tutorial… but don’t worry, I still have some surprises for you, and I will of course continue to discuss Unity, RTS and programming tips in the future ;)

However, there is one last big feature I want to add to our RTS “game skeleton”: the technology tree!

Because this system will be a bit complex, we will build it gradually over the three episodes to come:

  1. today, we’ll see what game technology trees are, how we are going to represent ours and how we can use our new structure to create a very basic tech tree
  2. next time, we’ll talk about how to display the tree in our UI, integrate the research costs and time and how to save/load it to retrieve the unlocked techs when we reload a game session
  3. and finally, we’ll put on our “tool…

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
CodeX
Writer for

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)