Some handy CSS tricks

Let’s discover some nice but less-known CSS feature!

Mina Pêcheux
CodeX

--

Any web developer knows the irreplaceable trio of programming languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. Those are the base skills you’ll need as soon as you start making websites or web apps…

… but do you really know these tools? For example, how much do you know about CSS?

Today, I’m going to share a few handy tips and features that might help you boost your styles and designs, or create dynamic content only with CSS! :)

Setting multiple classes on an element

You might be familiar with the CSS pattern where you assign the same style to multiple elements, using a comma ,:

#my-id, .my-class, .my-other-class {
color: red;
font-weight: bold;
}

But it’s just as easy to do the reverse and assign multiple styles to a given element — for example, you can easily give several classes to a tag by separating them with spaces:

If you want some style to apply only when there are at least a set of specific classes, you need to put all the required selectors next…

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
CodeX

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)