Striving for the Ultimate “Smart” Home Using the Latest Tech! Part 4

My Quest to Increase My Home’s Intelligence

Jeffrey Clos
CodeX
Published in
6 min readOct 26, 2021

--

Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

Adding to the list of intelligent items within the house would be my use of smart lighting. There are many options available to us consumers. I currently use several options from Philips, their Hue branded line of smart lights. I had made the investment in my last home and quickly replaced all of these bulbs before moving with standard LED lighting. There was no way we would make our move to the new house and not bring these Hue lights.

Let me first say owning smart lights is an investment. Start small and then branch off to other rooms in the house. There are other options open to you, with smart switches and plugs being a few others. Smart switches are excellent but require a little more installation know-how, given it involves working with electricity, as opposed to unscrewing and screwing in an alternate light bulb. Smart switches need you to shut off the power to the outlet you are replacing and remove it. Depending on the light switch and the number of things it controls will determine how it must be wired.

Occupancy Light Sensors

--

--

Jeffrey Clos
CodeX
Writer for

I am a lifetime inhabitant of Michigan, and compelled to share my various experiences. I have a lust for new technology and other improvements to ones life!