Synology NAS Is a Great Device

NAS is a great device in many ways and I think everyone should have one.

Tom Athos
CodeX
3 min readJan 29, 2023

--

Photo by Alex Cheung on Unsplash

I’m not going to write a long article on what a NAS is. Wikipedia describes it enough to get a feel for it, but those of you who already know it can skip it. Here is an explanation:

A NAS unit is a computer connected to a network that provides only file-based data storage services to other devices on the network. Although it may technically be possible to run other software on a NAS unit, it is usually not designed to be a general-purpose server. For example, NAS units usually do not have a keyboard or display and are controlled and configured over the network, often using a browser.

Read more here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network-attached_storage

I have been a NAS owner for more than 3 years now, and I can say that my workflow at home and the way I look at the online security of my files and data have changed rapidly.

Synology devices and their DSM operating system are top-notch, just like Apple devices and their operating system in the PC field. I like their user interface and reliability. The best thing is that you get most of Synology’s applications for free; many of them are useful enough for most users. If you have the Plus version of Synology NAS, you can install Docker to extend its usability.

My NAS devices

Synology DS418play

I have two Synology NAS devices, the first is a DS418play that I got three years ago. It is a 4-bay NAS device and I use it to store files and photos/videos for myself and my wife using Synology Drive and Synology Photos. I am happy with these two apps on all devices. The sync simply works and I have never had any major problems with it.

For backing up files on Macs, I use Time Machine and Active Backup for Business from Synology. For backing up iOS devices, I use iMazing, which can wirelessly back up all our iPhones and iPads.

Synology DS720+ with Docker installed

So, DS418play is my main storage device. I also store all my Plex content on it, but I use my other NAS device as a Plex server. It is a more powerful 2-bay Plus version filled with SSDs and is called DS720+.

The DS720+ is a real beast for me, especially with those SSDs in it. As I mentioned before, I use it as a Plex server and a Docker machine. Oh, I love Docker. Very interesting area.

Through Docker, I run many services, but I will list just a few of them:

  • Vaultwarden, a password manager (an unofficial Bitwarden compatible server),
  • AdGuard for blocking ads,
  • Bookstack, a platform for organising and storing information,
  • Tautulli for Plex
  • many more…

Is a NAS device worth the initial cost?

From my perspective, it is. I agree that Synology is not among the cheapest, quite the opposite, and in any case, I recommend the Plus version. Then you also have to buy disks, which are also not cheap if you need, for example, a 4-bay NAS. But eventually, you get a lot more and the investment pays off in due time.

Plus, your data is stored in a private cloud at home. But there’s one more thing I’d like to mention. If you don’t know much about NAS devices and how to set them up properly (I mean security), get some knowledge about it. Fear not, there are excellent websites that can help you with this. Read on.

Where to find support and a friendly community?

If you are a Synology user, I recommend the following two pages:

  • SynoForum, an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts,
  • Blackvoid, Synology media partner IT & tech blog focused on Synology NAS, SRM, Docker, and other self-hosted solutions.

These two websites give me all the help I require.

Do you have a NAS device? What is your experience with it? I’d love to hear them, so please leave a comment below.

--

--

Tom Athos
CodeX

Technology enthusiast, musician, teacher.