The Best Way to Learn Salesforce Apex

An Honest Review of David Liu’s Apex Academy Course

Susan Lee
CodeX

--

Talk to any Salesforce Administrator and most likely they are not interested in learning Apex. That is part of the draw of jumping into the Salesforce Administrator track; you could become skilled in the technology with “Clicks Not Code.”

what is salesforce
Source

Lost in Translation

Even though I liked being a Salesforce Administrator, I tried learning how to code because I thought that I would enjoy it. Learning to code is similar to learning a language; with my mathematics background and love for languages, I thought that coding would be a cinch.

But every time I tried to learn Apex on Trailhead or any other online course, I easily got frustrated or bored. I tried to Google my errors. I talked to other Salesforce Administrators, but they didn’t know Apex that well either. I didn’t want to bother my Salesforce Developer friends with my noob questions. I decided that I would just stay in my lane and leave the coding to the experts.

After a year as a Salesforce Administrator, I started to notice a glaring gap in my Salesforce knowledge. As a client’s platform became more sophisticated, we started consulting Salesforce developers for solutions. The problem was that I couldn’t understand what the developers…

--

--

Susan Lee
CodeX
Writer for

First of Her Name, Queen of Resources, Protector of Her Time, the Unbothered, the Breaker of Generational Curses, and the Mother to a Literal SOB