The Perfect Apple Gift for Seniors

My mother’s 70th birthday was approaching, and I wondered what I should buy her.

Tom Athos
CodeX
4 min readOct 24, 2022

--

Photo by Jornada Produtora on Unsplash
Photo by Jornada Produtora on Unsplash

What does she need? A new vacuum cleaner? A new purse? No, she doesn’t need that. Another gift card? Okay, I could buy her that (again), but I found a better idea.

Computer use of a senior citizen

I know that she spends some time on the computer, talking to her friends via email, Skype, Facebook, or Viber. I also know that she likes to read some news online and play simple games like cards. YouTube is also an important factor in her enjoyment of video material. She doesn’t follow streaming, but who knows what time will bring.

I also know that she kept calling me because of “strange” pop-ups on the screen. She was using an old Windows PC, almost the cheapest entry-level model of laptop with a 17-inch screen.

My mother is not tech-savvy, and you can imagine how a simple pop-up on the screen can confuse her. And for some reason, this computer has always wanted something from her. I didn’t make such a big deal out of it until I got tired of checking and fixing things via TeamViewer for her. The computer just got old and slow, not to mention the screen resolution and the constant plugging into a power source because the battery was also running low.

Should I upgrade my mum’s computer?

Well, let’s think about upgrading that computer. No, it’s a waste of time and money. I already did that with her previous laptop. I added a new SSD and some RAM, so the computer worked much better. But there were still these “weird” pop-ups, and they made me tired. The main reason that got me thinking was how to make her life easier with the technology that is currently available. I can’t just let her have this computer because she has also complained about how long it takes to load when she starts the computer, how she can’t use Skype occasionally, etc.

Of course, let’s bite into a sour apple. Why not introduce a new operating system? A mobile system that is more closed, but reliable. A portable device, light, fast, easy to use and with a clear screen.

Oh. My. God. What was I thinking? My brother told me it would confuse her even more. My nephew also told me that it’s not for his grandmother. She needs a larger screen and Windows, not a screen that is so small. What’s more, I was thinking of getting her an iPad with an entirely different system called iPadOS. Her phone runs on Android, and she is not keen on touch screens.

So I bought the perfect gift

Yes, that was my idea. And I decided to buy her an iPad (9th generation). It is a basic iPad (Wi-Fi) with 64 GB of storage. I added a case, so she can put the device in stand mode. I should add that I deliberately went for the basic iPad because, in my experience, that is more than enough for her needs. As far as storage is concerned, I use a NAS device, so I have plenty of storage space available. All her documents, videos, and photos are safely stored and backed up on this device. So, she does not have to pay for additional storage in iCloud.

After one month of use, she has not complained once. It took a couple of hours for me to introduce her to the iPad system, and then a couple of FaceTime screen-sharing calls to help her solve a few minor problems using the iPad. I should add that she already has a touchscreen device, her Android phone, so she knows the basics of using a touchscreen device.

However, it’s a different system for her. She’s enjoying her iPad, video calls with friends and all the other things that interest her. She is literally using the device for the content and not so much for the system itself. I am very pleased about that.

Conclusion

Given how my mother uses the iPad, I think the iPad is a great gift for most older people who are not so tech-savvy. I’m not saying it’s the best for everyone, but I can say it’s the best for most.

For some, a desktop or laptop (Mac or Windows) may be better, depending on needs. Maybe someone wants or needs a bigger screen, but for my mother, this is no longer an issue. You can imagine how small a 9.7-inch iPad is compared to a 17-inch laptop screen. But because the iPad has a much better resolution, she can see all the text clearly and large enough. As I said, not a single complaint.

We would say that this is a win-win situation. My mother is happy with her iPad, and we all don’t have to deal with those weird pop-ups anymore.

Thank you for reading. Always appreciated.

Originally published at https://www.tomathosblog.com on October 22, 2022.

--

--

Tom Athos
CodeX

Technology enthusiast, musician, teacher.