UI Design That Just Makes Me Weep

Dr Stuart Woolley
CodeX
Published in
4 min readJul 11, 2022

--

“Dammit Jim, I’m a Doctor not a UI Designer! But yes even I can see that’s dreadful and could do it way better…”

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I genuinely believe that the reason I’m mandated to use Teams for a high proportion of work related communication is that I’m being punished for something terrible I must have done in a previous life¹.

By way of an example here is a screen shot of a small corner of real estate within the ‘Manage Account’ -> ‘Manage’ -> Open random webpage labyrinth of Microsoft’s account settings.

On one of the many web pages, all very much alike, that each click seems to open in continual new tabes is this glorious example of cognitively dissonant design which gives me the vapours by just looking at it.

“Concise and Confusing” — Image snapped by the Author from MS Account Settings

Bearing in mind the Orwellian implications of having ‘Item insights’ active, I do tend to make sure that it’s always most definitely turned off.

One reason, as I’ve mentioned previously, is that I don’t equate spending a higher percentage of my working week as a measure of success.

Another is that I don’t wish to know how long I spend in meetings as it makes me unnecessarily miserable and want to

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley
CodeX

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.