What is Tutorial Hell? — And how to avoid it to Improve as a Developer

Start doing something productive and stop collecting tutorials

Jesús Lagares
CodeX

--

Photo by AltumCode on Unsplash

When I was starting in the programming world I wanted to learn a lot. There were many languages and technologies that I wanted to discover, so I searched for tutorials on the Internet.

I’ve found many great free resources and I noted them into a list. After it, I started to finish them and put the titles inside a private folder to collect PDF files with certifications.

I thought that I was a master of a pair of languages and that I was able to create whatever I wanted with a bit of help. And the reality was totally different.

I almost knew nothing when I tried to develop a personal project. I didn't know how to face real problems such as bugs or code smells. But why? If I’ve finished a lot of different tutorials and I had many titles…

Because I was in the tutorial hell.

What is “Tutorial Hell”?

Tutorial hell is a concept that has appeared in recent years in the world of coding and development due to the massive consumption of tutorials.

If you’re a developer it’s probable that you’ve done any tutorial at any time for learning a…

--

--

Jesús Lagares
CodeX
Writer for

Backend Software Engineer @ Nova | Tech Content Creator @ AlpacaTech | Writing about software development and technology 💻✨.